100515_aCori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view–combined with stunning visual storytelling

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn’t: live past graduation. 

Jaycee is dealing with her brother’s death the only way she can–by re-creating Jake’s daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She’s not crazy, okay? She just doesn’t have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn’t expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she’s joined by a group of unlikely friends – all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and… Mik. He doesn’t talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy’s gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world’s largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.


Information on the Urbex locations in You Were Here


You Were Here is a VOYA Best Book, received a starred review from BCCB, and is on the  Texas Library Association’s 2017 Reading List (Tayshas).

“A beautiful coming-of-age story, this book will leave readers thinking about it long after they close it.”

VOYA, 5Q 5P S review

“The mix of forms as well as the insights each character gleans through their urban explorations render this book both readable and teachable on multiple levels.”

Bulletin for the Center of Children’s Books, STARRED review

“A skillful blend of storytelling, emotion, and adrenaline-fueled daring, spun through with romances new and old.”

Publisher’s Weekly

“The topic of urban exploration and the inclusion of graphic novel style chapters will appeal to teens.”

School Library Journal

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 4.29.15 PM


You Were Here is available at all major book retailers in hardcover, paperback, and e-reader formats.

You Were Here will be published in translation in Turkey by Indigo.



Information about the illustrator, Sonia LiaoScreen Shot 2016-02-24 at 4.30.00 PM