RELEASING 2019 & 2020:

ONCE & FUTURE DUOLOGY

Amy Rose Capetta and Cori McCarthy’s duology ONCE & FUTURE, pitched as an inclusive retelling of the Arthurian cycle. In a galaxy where corporation is king, an illegal immigrant crash-lands on Old Earth and pulls Excalibur, sealing her fate as the 42nd reincarnation of King Arthur, and awakening Merlin, who has aged backwards into a teenager; together they spark galactic revolution, to Aubrey Poole at Jimmy Patterson, in a very nice deal, at auction, for publication in Summer 2019, by Sara Crowe at Pippin Properties for Capetta and Sarah Davies at Greenhouse Literary for McCarthy (NA).

Foreign: info@rightspeople.com



RELEASING 2018:

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

Fandom, feminism & first love collide in Ireland in in this contemporary rom com. 
9781492652380-300

Iris Thorne wants to blaze her own path. But that’s easier said than down when you’re the granddaughter of M.E. Thorne, author of the Elementia fantasy series, hailed as the feminist response to J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings. Iris hardly knew her grandmother, but her legacy overshadows every friendship, every relationship–and obsessed fans have even threatened her family’s safety. Is it any wonder Iris won’t read the books and immerses herself in music instead?

When the major motion picture adaptation is announced, Iris panics. If the movies are good, the Elementia fandom will grow exponentially. And if the movies are bad, her family name will become a punch line. So when Iris and her younger brother are invited to the movie set in Ireland, Iris decides to take action. She has to stop the filming, even if the devoted crew and hot young cast seem pretty cool, especially the charming, nerdy Irish actor, Eamon.

Can making a film for the big screen help Iris see the big picture?


Now A Major Motion Picture will be available April Fool’s Day 2018. Signed pre-orders can be placed through Bear Pond Books.



YOU WERE HERE

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view–combined with stunning visual storytelling100515_a

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn’t: live past graduation.
Jaycee is dealing with her brother’s death the only way she can–by re-creating Jake’s daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She’s not crazy, okay? She just doesn’t have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn’t expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she’s joined by a group of unlikely friends – all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and… Mik. He doesn’t talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy’s gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world’s largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.


Information on the Urbex locations in You Were Here


You Were Here is a VOYA Best Book, received a starred review from BCCB.

You Were Here is on the  Texas Library Association’s 2017 Reading List (Tayshas) and Bank Street’s Best Children’s Books List, 2017 Edition.

“A beautiful coming-of-age story, this book will leave readers thinking about it long after they close it.” 

VOYA, 5Q 5P S review

“The mix of forms as well as the insights each character gleans through their urban explorations render this book both readable and teachable on multiple levels.” 

Bulletin for the Center of Children’s Books, STARRED review

“A skillful blend of storytelling, emotion, and adrenaline-fueled daring, spun through with romances new and old.” 

Publisher’s Weekly

“The topic of urban exploration and the inclusion of graphic novel style chapters will appeal to teens.”

School Library Journal

 



You Were Here is available at all major book retailers in hardcover, paperback, and e-reader formats.

You Were Here will be published in translation in Turkey by Indigo.

Information about the illustrator, Sonia Liao



BREAKING SKY

In this high-flying, adrenaline-fueled thriller, America’s best hope is the elite teen fighter pilots of the United Star Academy.BSky Cover Final

Chase Harcourt, call sign “Nyx,” is one of only two pilots chosen to fly the experimental “Streaker” jets at the junior Air Force Academy in the year 2048. She’s tough and impulsive with lightning-fast reactions, but few know the pain and loneliness of her past or the dark secret about her father. All anyone cares about is that Chase aces the upcoming Streaker trials, proving the prototype jet can knock the enemy out of the sky.

But as the world tilts toward war, Chase cracks open a military secret. There’s a third Streaker jet, whose young hotshot pilot, Tristan, can match her on the ground and in the clouds. Chase doesn’t play well with others, but to save her country she may just have to put her life in the hands of the competition.


Sony Pictures has acquired the film rights to Breaking Sky. Read more here. Propose cast members and support the movie here.

Buy the Audiobook!

Buy the Audiobook!

Breaking Sky will be published in translation in Russia, Thailand, and Turkey.

Do you Audible? Breaking Sky is available as an audiobook from Blackstone Audio. 

Breaking Sky is part of the Accelerated Reader program.


Breaking Sky received starred reviews from School Library Journal and The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A great story being told in a very cool way. Smart, exciting, confident—and quite possibly the next Big Thing.” – Kirkus Reviews

“This novel distinguishes itself. The dialogue is authentic, and the characters are nuanced. Chase has determination and resolve, even in the face of her fears. The description of her flights is breathtakingly realistic.VERDICT Strong characterizations, action, adventure, and emotion combine to produce a sci-fi novel that is more than just the sum of its parts.

School Library Journal,STARRED Review

“This riveting near-future science fiction military adventure reads like a cross between Top Gun and Ender’s Game, blended with just the right amount of adolescent angst. The writing is emotionally charged throughout, moving seamlessly from scenes of mid-air acrobatics to edge-of-your-seat dogfights to interpersonal drama. […] Replete with fighter pilot jargon, plausible science fiction elements, and nerd-friendly literary allusions, this taut, well-crafted novel should have broad appeal, for fans of everything from Roth’s Divergent to Wein’s Code Name Verity.

Bulletin for the Center of Children’s BooksSTARRED review

“McCarthy (The Color of Rain) deploys breath-stopping depictions of high-stakes piloting with enviable ease, and the in-your-face personal confrontations are nearly as taut. Both will keep readers glued to the page.”

Publisher’s Weekly

“This thriller is a heart-stopper, both for its adrenaline-fueled descriptions of flying maneuvers and its nuanced daredevil lead character. As the war heats up, McCarthy puts her characters in increasingly tense situations, testing them to the breaking point and giving what could have been merely a popcorn thriller sudden gravity. This crazy-cool story should soar.”

Booklist Review



Breaking Sky is available in hardcover, trade paperback, e-reader, and audiobook formats from all major book retailers.



THE COLOR OF RAIN

“Pacy and intense, bleak and edgy, a debut space thriller that asks big questions, by a strong new YA voice.” 

Rain Cover

Published by Running Press 2013

 

If there is one thing that seventeen-year-old Rain knows and knows well, it is survival. Caring for her little brother, Walker, who is “Touched,” and losing the rest of her family to the same disease, Rain has long had to fend for herself on the bleak, dangerous streets of Earth City. When she looks to the stars, Rain sees escape and the only possible cure for Walker. And when a darkly handsome and mysterious captain named Johnny offers her passage to the Edge, Rain immediately boards his spaceship. Her only price: her “willingness.”

The Void cloaks many secrets, and Rain quickly discovers that Johnny’s ship serves as host for an underground slave trade for the Touched . . . and a prostitution ring for Johnny’s girls. With hair as red as the bracelet that indicates her status on the ship, the feeling of being a marked target is not helpful in Rain’s quest to escape. Even worse, Rain is unsure if she will be able to pay the costs of love, family, hope, and self-preservation.


“[An] elegantly written and emotionally cathartic page-turner.”

Kirkus

“McCarthy’s poetic language glows throughout her descriptions of a desolate and melancholy universe.”

Publisher’s Weekly

“The Color of Rain was about embracing courage and the life-changing—no, world-changing—power of hope. But for all of its thematic intensity, it was McCarthy’s gripping writing style—which was simultaneously filled with vivid imagery and brutally blunt—that made this read so memorable. […] There are no sparkly vampires here, or friendly games of quidditch. Only a cast of flawed characters trying their best to survive in a fallen world. Deeply thought-provoking and more than a little disturbing, The Color of Rain peers into the darkness of human nature and asks its readers some hard questions—questions with no easy answers.”

–-Paul Goat Allen, “The Next Big Thing in YA Dystopia” the Barnes & Noble Blog

“McCarthy pulls no punches, exploring some of the most problematic romance tropes in YA with an analytical eye and a keen sense of humanity.”

–-The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This well-written story is fast-paced, nerve-wracking, and disturbing all at the same time. Rain is a likeable character, and her plight so horrific that the reader is sure to root for her.”

–-Children’s Literature



The Color of Rain is available in used trade paperback and e-reader formats.